The communities where the northern dialect is spoken are Wemindji, Chisasibi and Whapmagoostui.

The communities where the southern dialect is spoken are Waskaganish, Nemaska, Waswanipi, Ouje-Bougoumou and Mistissini. The community of Eastmain is in between northern and southern dialects, but has chosen to belong to the Southern dialect by adopting the southern writing system.

Activity completed